Friday, May 14, 2010

Google Places - Set Up New Google Account For Each Business - No Third Party Google Accounts


When setting up your Google Places account, keep in mind that there is no way to transfer this account to someone else.  If you should sell the business or have any other reason to want to transfer control of the account to another person, you will need to shut down the listing and start over.  This means losing all of your reviews and citations.    Obviously this could be a huge loss.

Therefore, DO NOT allow your marketing consultant, advertising agency, or any other outside company to create your listing in their account.  They may wish to do this for convenience.  You need to create this listing in YOUR Google Account.

DO NOT use your personal Google Account or the Google Account of another business you own or control to create your listing. 

DO Create a brand new Google Account for each business that you own.  This way you will be able to transfer control of the account to a new owner without losing any of the work that has gone into the creation of the account.

You should use this thinking with regard to all local search engine listings such as MerchantCircle, HotFrog,, Yelp, Yahoo, Bing, and others.

No comments: